Potato Eggs & Mayo… Potato Salad

Potato Salad

I’m sure I’ve said it a zillionth time before – that I’m a big potato fan. How can anyone resist potatoes? :p On Christmas, I had a mini Christmas feast and this is what I whipped up. Though it’s Christmas, there’s no yule log, no turkey, no gingerbread man, no Christmas tree, no Santa Claus… nope. None of those sort. We only had store-bought roasted spring chicken, a bottle of sparkling juice, two store-bought mango puddings and that was our feast. It was simple, and it was nice.

I’m not a very Chirstmas-y kind of person. To me, it’s just another holiday in the school holidays. But nevertheless, it’s an opportunity and a reason for people to meet up. And also, it gives me an excuse to cook/bake – because I’ll have more “guinea pigs” to try on my new baked goods. :p

Ah well… this potato salad is a very easy dish to prepare and can be prepared well ahead of time if you’re really preparing a huge feast. I think most people serve it as salad, but for a potato-lover like me, I couldn’t care less. I’ll just eat it whenever I have the chance. :)

Before I bore you any further, here’s the rough recipe, tweak it accordingly to suit your taste! :)

Potato Salad (serves 3 to 4)

5 medium potatoes
1 small box of golden raisins, soaked in hot water
3 hard-boiled eggs, peeled and roughly chopped
2 slices of ham, toasted and sliced into strips
1/2 cup mayonnaise
Salt and pepper

Peel and chop potatoes into chunks. Put the potato chunks into a pot of cold salted water and bring to a boil. Turn the heat down and simmer until the potatoes are cooked. Drain well. Drain the golden raisins, squeezing them to get rid of the extra water.

Mix the cooked potatoes, golden raisins, eggs and mayonnaise together. Season with salt and pepper. Add more mayonnaise and/or seasoning you have reached your desired taste. Refrigerate till well-chilled. Sprinkle with ham strips and serve.

Alternatively, you can substitute ham strips with bacon bits and add in chopped onion or other ingredients that you like.
I shredded the leftover spring chicken meat and mix it into the leftover potato salad and serve it as next day’s brunch. Mmmm… yum!
Happy cooking!
What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,346 other followers

